Moose in Love

Happy Summer Readers!  I hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day full of beer, BBQ, and  home repair.  I spent most of my weekend doing all three but mainly trying to find a witty title for today’s blog post.  Major Fail.  Even with a few beers in (the height of my creativity) nothing came.  No inspiration.  No brilliant ideas, just amazing dance moves while playing Just Dance 2 which I am now fully addicted to.  Typically I get these great ideas for a tittle/theme and make a draft with a note.  I could have used another (Just Moosing Around) but I want you all to enjoy the post with the original theme and not some pilfered story.

So back to the Moose in Love– the final stage of the chair reupholstering!  Previously, I burned myself stripping (stripping. . . hehehe), hurt my hand removing 1001 staples, and got some very pretty bling for my finger.

Now on to our final steps included cutting the fabric, gluing (for some reason gluing just doesn’t ever look spelled correct) the foam and staple gunning!  While organizing everything for an afternoon of fun, I noticed the fabric had moose in love.

Who would have thought the fabric would include kissing moose (not meese, we checked)?  Finding the kissing moose gave me a warm and fuzzy awww moment especially since this is my courting present to Greg (he’s making me an island).  Yes, we know we are dorky– my sister loves to point it out on a regular basis.

Now back to the task at hand, showing you how to reupholster.  Every step from here on out was followed from a YouTube video with much success (go me!).

Step One- Survey your leftovers from destapling.

I saved the top layer of fabric from the chair bottom, top, and back because we will use them as our pattern pieces.  First you need to iron them to ensure they lay flat and you have the correct measurement for the chair.  Since we picked a print, we bought more fabric than we needed.  Ok, it was because I figured there would be an error somewhere along the way.

Step Two– Gluing the foam.

We bought a yard of 1 1/2 thick foam at Joann’s with the 50% off coupon.  I traced the wooden bottom and front piece with my trusty sharpie marker before cutting.  Foam can be tricky to cut and cuts best with an exacto knife or chain saw.  After you have shapes, it is time to glue.

You don’t have to glue but I wanted to guarantee the foam stayed in place while I stapled the fabric on.  No need to buy any special glue for this task, ordinary Elmer’s glue will work.  Since the foam curls and doesn’t want to lay flat, flip it so the foam is on the bottom and the wood is on top.  Give it about two hours to dry.

Step Three- Prepare the Fabric

We purchased two and a half yards of fabric based upon following this chart and prepared it for cutting by ironing it.  Then I laid the chair fabric down to serve as my pattern.  If you are using a patterned fabric with a specific direction to the print, double check your chair pattern pieces are laying in the correct way.

As you can see, I did not fully iron the one piece.  This piece went on the back and needed to have the edges ironed down.  I wanted to save the how much they folded under so I lightly ironed the original piece.

Once cut, you iron again!  Since I was using a thin cotton fabric, a backing was needed to provide structure to the fabric.  Enter the fusable interfacing.

Important for remembering when using fusable interfacing– one bumpy side and one flat side.  Do not iron bumpy side up or you will funky up the iron.  No, I did not do this because I’ve been sewing for years but I have before.  Slowly drag the iron across the interfacing to allow adhering.  Then reiron the piece from the cotton side. Trim all excess interfacing.

In case you haven’t caught on yet but sewing requires lots of ironing.

Step Four- Fun with Staples

I started with the bottom chair piece because it only had one piece of fabric to attach and I thought it would help establish my staple legs (hehehe).  I laid the fabric face down and positioned the seat on top.  Pull the fabric taunt and staple once in the center of each side.  Then flip it over to check the fabric is straight.

Pick a side and slowly work your way out of the center stapling every inch or so.  When you get to the corners, fold and play around to minimize the wrinkles/bunching.

We decided to add an orange trim to accent the walls and incorporate it better into the man cave.  You can buy the trim at Joann’s  in a package for a few dollars.  You don’t have to use as many staples when attaching to the chair.  Just work your way around the edge.

For the back chair piece, I stapled the front on the same way but had to play round with the back piece since it showed through the chair urn design.  I had position so that the edge did not show above the chair edge and the staples did not show through the open back.  Play around with it for a bit and you will get it perfect.

To double check, I held it up to the chair and did the staple search.  No staples were found.  Woohoo!

The orange trim was added and we were ready to roll.

Step Five- Screw Pieces and Enjoy!

For the final step, you get to use power tools!  Screw the back in place, screw the bottom in place.  Enjoy because the chair is reupholstered.

Cost Break-down

$6.95 for the chair

$4 stripper*

$4 paint*

$5 foam (purchased with 50% off coupn)

$6 trim

$15 fabric (on sale at $6 a yard)

$0 staples (already owned)

Total- $41

Not a bad price for a completely reuholstered chair.  next time  I would not get as much fabric but lesson learned.

* partial cost due to being split among several projects

And now an action shot!  He’s grinning like that because we recycled a chair doomed for a trash bin fate.

One thought on “Moose in Love

Leave a Reply

