Well, Hello and How Do You Do

Since I’ve been blogging for a few months and picked up a few visitors who have never met me, I felt it was time to have a Q&A for everyone.  Ok, I really didn’t feel like writing a long involved post about a house hold project but wanted to keep everyone entertained.

First this is us. I’m the one on the left.

Q. What made you decide to blog about the house?

A. Honestly, I was getting bored and ansty.  Two and a half years ago I finished my MBA in International Marketing and started looking for a new job, got derailed a bit, found a wonderful new job, but was missing the creative writing I spent my education honing.  As a marketing major, you work on project after project of descriptive writing about something or other and I didn’t want to lose my skills.  A friend kept up his writing skills (plus he’s a much more talented writer than I) with a blog and suggested I do something long those lines.  Side note: Visit Patrick’s site, The Philadelphia Church Project.  It rocks.

I started this blog a few years back but after two posts, got bored.  This time it’s different because I have something to say.  We’ve been busting our butts working on the house and I want to share both our accomplishments and how we did those projects.  A few people I know are in the process of getting or just bought a house and have enjoyed reading what we are doing.  They seen our foibles and are attempting tasks similar.

All Greg wants from the blog is for me to 1) get a book deal, 2)become a New York Times Best Selling author, 3) hire him as my “personal assistant”.

Q. What has been your favorite project?

A. For me, it’s been painting the Wildcat mural.  Painting has always been a de-stresser and an outlet for me.  The Wildcat allowed me to create something we both loved and relax at the same time.

For Greg, his favorite project has been the island.  It was the first major project he accomplished without help from anyone other than Google and YouTube.  He has always enjoyed projects that were “hands on” especially woodworking.  The island offered an opportunity for him to use his engineering skills with his desire to try woodworking.  As you can see, he excelled on his first attempt.  Don’t think I didn’t submit a list of other task for him to start since his self-confidence grew three sizes that day (bonus points to whoever guesses what movie the quote is based on).

Q. Do you have any uncompleted projects?

A. Oh yes, practically a whole house of them.  We have a few rooms we haven’t finished yet and won’t post until we get the touch-ups done.  In the case of the master bathroom, there is a reason we won’t be posting about that anytime soon.  Just know I jumped the gun on pulling down wallpaper.  My bad.

Q. What’s been your favorite discovery through this process?

A. MAGIC ERASERS!  See how emphatically I said that.  Seriously, if you don’t have a box of them, invest now.  They clean everything and even help remove wet paint from an “oops” spot.

For Greg, it’s been how helpful and knowledgeable parental units can be.   We can only hope to be that helpful one day to our children (who are still figments in our mind).  Oh, and his reel mower.  He loves his reel mower almost most as much as he loves using the level.

That’s it for now.  If you have any questions, feel free to submit them!

Leave a Reply

