Audrey Hepburn Style

Some days Greg and I can be house updating slackers.  My friend Jess doesn’t believe it and refutes it many of our emails.   Never the less, we can be when it comes to the small things.  Sure we can paint a room over the course of a weekend or build an island in less than a month but when it comes to hanging a painting or putting away the final boxes from Greg’s move, we are total slackers.

Take for instance my Audrey Hepburn painting.  A few years ago, I saw this canvas at Ikea which feed right into my Audrey Hepburn obsession (totally obsessed) but did not fit into my budget.

No way was I paying over $60 for something I could do myself for under $10.  In end it was free since I had the canvas and paints.  An afternoon later of freehand sketching from the Ikea picture, I was ready to paint.  The print hung in my apartment hall way for a few years and then sat in Greg’s living room for a few months after I moved in.

Since some of my other artwork was going in the office as well as my Audrey Hepburn calendar (see, I told you I was obsessed), I felt she should go in there.  I brought her up and  asked Greg to place her on the wall.

Even brought up the two nails he needed.  Before you say, “He needs a hammer too,” there is a tool kit in the office closet.

This was several months ago.

We are such slackers.  I can’t even blame him because I work in this room for over eight hours a day.  I could have easily done it during my tea break, instead she sat there sideways.

Finally, I broke out Mr. Level and hung her up only after measuring for the middle of the wall (go me!).  Greg could not contain his excitement, in fact he took a bajillion pictures of me using the level.

One more from his impromptu photoshoot.  My advice to you is not to use a rolling office chair to lean over a bookcase in order to hang a picture especially one that likes to lose a wheel at random moments.  Today’s safety tip is brought you by Breakfast at Tiffany’s, rent it soon.

She reigns over the room in supreme chicness, happy to be back on the wall.

Now we just have to get to those final boxes.

Post script- after posting this picture, I noticed the bookcase needs to move a little more to the right.  Anyone want to bet on how long it will take us?

One thought on “Audrey Hepburn Style

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

