Diane’s Summer Reading List

Since it seems all good blogs (and Oprah) offer books lists, I think it’s time I jump on that bandwagon especially with the holiday weekend arriving in a few days.  I am a total bookaholic who comes from a long line of bookaholics.  In fact, the librarians have been on a first name basis with our family forever.   Heck, I have library cards for three counties just to maximize my ebook reading, but I’m getting off track.

I now present my (slightly belated) summer book list– a mixture of new and old books!

1. Darcy’s Voyage by Kara Louise

If you are a Pride and Prejudice fan or have only seen Colin Firth in a movie, read this twist on Pride and Prejudice.  You will feel warm and fuzzy once you finish and long for the day’s where you could be called Miss Pesavento (or insert your name there).   And how many authors wish their readers a happy birthday on facebook?  All the more reason Kara Louise made this list. 

Side note: Yep, I am soooo easily swayed.  Good thing I don’t have sponsors or people sending me house hold stuff to blog about.

2. If You Were Here by Jen Lancaster

Did I mention how much I love Jen Lancaster?  I already blogged about meeting her but read the book and then read all of her memoirs.  After that, read her blog.  You won’t be disappointed.  If You Were Here is the story of Mia and Mac as they purchase their first home in suburbs and try to live the John Hughes movie dream. 

3. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

An oldie but a goody.  Diane Setterfield weaves an amazing and captivating tale in this ghost story filled with secrets, confused identities, and lies.  Now if only I knew where my copy of the book disappeared to. . .

4. The Stand by Stephen King

The ultimate battle between good and evil and one that I read on a yearly basis.   Full of memorable characters and a look at what could happen if most of the population was wiped out.  After finishing it, treat yourself to the miniseries which does a great job of capturing all piviotal moments from the book.

5.  Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy

Ok, I haven’t read this one yet but it’s one I plan to read this summer.  Therefore I think you should read it too.

6. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

A completely riviting book about an immortal line of cells and the woman they came from.  If you are thinking, “Ewww science, how can that be entertaining?,” believe me, it can.  I am not the science type (we can let my report card show that) but this book captures the human side to the story.  Below is the synopsis.

“Henrietta Lacks was a mother of five in Baltimore, a poor African American migrant from the tobacco farms of Virginia, who died from a cruelly aggressive cancer at the age of 30 in 1951. A sample of her cancerous tissue, taken without her knowledge or consent, as was the custom then, turned out to provide one of the holy grails of mid-century biology: human cells that could survive–even thrive–in the lab. Known as HeLa cells, their stunning potency gave scientists a building block for countless breakthroughs, beginning with the cure for polio. Meanwhile, Henrietta’s family continued to live in poverty and frequently poor health, and their discovery decades later of her unknowing contribution–and her cells’ strange survival–left them full of pride, anger, and suspicion. ”

If you have any suggestions, add them as a comment so other’s can see.  Now go read!

One thought on “Diane’s Summer Reading List

  1. I would suggest A Walk In The Woods by Bill Bryson. The author is very entertaining and his friend that he walks the trail with is hysterical. It is a good book for summer as it inspires one to go enjoy the great outdoors.

Leave a Reply

