Sparkle and Shine!

As we all know, I love sparkly objects . . . very sparkly objects.  Pair the love of sparkly objects with my new found love of Pinterest and you have the greatest pairing ever.

Yes, better than milk and cookies or PB&J.

I saw an easy way to clean silver and thought that it wouldn’t work no matter how many people pinned it.  Crumpled tin foil, baking soda, salt, and hot water sounds more like a exploding volcano science project than jewelry cleaner.

Until I tried it.

It’s awesome.

Seriously.

I cleaned all my silver jewelry.  I cleaned all my Grandmom’s silverware.  And then I realized I should have been blogging about it.  After taking the dog out, I saw the best thing to test it on– the silverware wind chime we bought at the Manayunk Artsfest last summer.

What you will need to make this science experiment work:

Tarnished silver

2 cups of water

1 tablespoon of salt

1 tablespoon of baking soda

a fold piece of tin foil

ceramic or glass dish

1.  Find the piece of tarnished silver.  Look at how gross and dirty the wind chime became from hanging outside since June.

2.  Microwave the water for three minutes.

3.  Fold the tin foil to cover the bottom of dish.

4.  Place wind chime in dish (I used a loaf pan.)

5.  Sprinkle baking soda and salt on top.

6.  Take a few pictures of the puppy assistant.

7.  Pour the hot water into the dish.

8.  Take a few more pictures of the puppy while the dish hisses and sizzles.

9.  Remove silver and wash it off.

10.  Stare in awe at how easy it was.

11.  Run around finding more silver to experiment on.

12.  Repeat.

If they did stuff like this in chemistry, I might have been more interested.

Leave a Reply

