Five on Friday: Summer Fun

And we are back with Five on  Friday– the summer fun edition (which has been sitting in my pinterest board for three weeks.)  Greg and I have been waiting for the summer but for very different reasons– he likes seeing me shorts and cute skirts and I like the good books and walking in the nice weather.

Oh and hosting summer parties especially now that I have a smoker.  I love to throw a good barbeque and they are going to be awesome this year.

Now without much ado, I present Five on Friday.  Enjoy!

I think today’s selections are worth the wait because they involve food, alcohol, and beach fun.  Now if we could use all of them together it would be a great time.

1. The Pillow-Towel Tote

This project screamed perfect for the beach.  I love to read or tan and this helps with two things- 1) the towel being too short and 2) your head burrowing into the sand.  How many times have you rolled up your cover up to shove under your head as a temporary pillow?  Now you don’t have to worry about it.  Easy and fun (which are two very good requirements) which will make you the envy of everyone on the beach or at the pool party.

2. Giant Scrabble Board

As a self confessed scrabble addict (who can’t wait to try bananagrams), this is needs to go into Greg’s backyard.  I’ve brought him around to scrabble through Words With Friends and I know many of you became addicted to Scrabble the same way, don’t deny it because I’ve played with many of you.  It looks a bit labor intensive but think of all the hours of fun you will.  Put a fire pit next to it and turn it into the centerpiece of your latest bonfire.

3. Flip Flop Cookies

I live with two peanut butter addicts– Greg and Hazel.  These cookies will be a hit at any summer BBQ/Pool party and probably take about 5 minutes to make.  I think you’ll spend more time in line at the grocery store picking up the cookies than decorating them.

4. Jello Shot Fun

I think these speak for themselves– jello shots in fruit rinds.  Shall we count the reasons why they are great- no scooping of jello out of a tiny cup, no looking for the tiny cups to put them in, and they are oh so festive. Just be sure to label them adults only at any party.

5. Frozen Fruit Pops

I love Skinnytaste recipes and this one looks delicious and easy to make.  Fruit, a bit of juice, throw it in the freezer and you are done.  This would be nice and refreshing with a margarita after an afternoon of home improvements.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

