Five on Friday: Breast Cancer Awareness

Today’s Five on Friday is a bit different from some of my previous ones. October is Breast Cancer Awareness and today’s post is dedicated to the cause.

Five years ago I walked the Breast Cancer 3-Day for my Grandmom. In December 1994, my grandmom, Matilda Thomson, was diagnosed with breast cancer. That January she had her breast removed. She stayed with us after her surgery and she defeated the cancer. I remember her strength during the ordeal and how it would later impact me.

In April 2006, I found a lump in my breast and I wasn’t fearful of it because of the strength my grandmom showed. Fortunately, my lump ended up being a fibrocystic mass but other women are not as lucky. It is for them and for my grandmom that I want to bring awareness to this cause.

Please support one of these organizations in the fight against breast cancer– do a run, volunteer, or donate!

1. Please remember to do you self exam.

Before even thinking about donating, check yourself.  It’s easy to do, just check them once a month!

2. The Breast Cancer Research Foundation

3. Susan G. Komen for the Cure

4. Avon Walk for Breast Cancer

5. Stand Up to Cancer

Leave a Reply

