Sophie’s Choice

Over the past few weeks, we have been getting the living room ready for our remodeling staycation.  Fortunately we didn’t have much in the room besides mismatched furniture, our reuseable bags, boxes we have yet to unpack, and my books.

Yesterday I had to go through my books to decide which ones to keep and which ones to donate.

Talk about Sophie’s Choice.

I love books.  I love reading.  If you walked into our house, you can see where I sit because there is a pile of books next to it.

Sure I’ve got a Nook full of book but there is just something about holding a book in your hands.  I come from a family of readers on my Mom’s side.  She’s the one who got me addicted to the library.  Greg will tell you, I go in to just return a book and emerge 30 minutes later with three more to read.

It’s a burden I must bear.

So back to my Sophie’s Choice . . . I literally sat there and debated over each and every book because I love rereading books.

Finally, I was left with this– my chosen children packaged waiting for their new rooms. . .

. . . and the ones that must find new homes.

I feel so bad for them.

Sigh.

4 thoughts on “Sophie’s Choice

Leave a Reply

