Christmas Pizzelles

A few years ago, my sister and I convinced my mom to buy a pizzelle maker on Black Friday.  For those of you who don’t know what the heck a pizzelle is (much less a pizzelle maker), it’s an italian cookie traditionally made at Christmas and Easter.  Pizzelles are round, flat cookies that can be a variety of flavors (anise, vanilla, or almond).

She bought the pizzelle maker but told us, we were the ones who would be making them.  Since neither Laura nor I had  never made a pizzelle, we turned to the ultimate authority– our Aunt Janet.

And Aunt Janet didn’t fail us.  She emailed us her recipe and we started baking.  Flash forward a few years and I was telling her that my pizzelles need to go into the oven after using the pizzelle iron because they are too wet still.  She recommended using less flour.

This year I followed her instructions to use less flour and it worked.  Moral of the story here is: Call Aunt Janet before using two appliances to make cookies.

Since Hazel had me up at 4:45AM today, I figured it was the perfect time to make pizzelles (and Greg’s lunch chicken, buffalo chicken dip, and dill pickle dip).

First things first, you need a recipe.

Aunt Janet’s Pizzelle Recipe

Ingredients

  • 6 eggs
  • 2/3 cup corn oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup flour (I used a smidge less)

Flavoring option- Anise

  • 1 Tbsp Anise seed
  • 1/4 tsp anise oil
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Flavoring option- Vanilla

  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Flavoring option- Almond

  • 1 tablespoon almond extract

1. Beat eggs, sugar, oil, and flavorings until fluffy.

2. Add flour and beat until combined.  The mixture should be the consistency of pancake batter.

3. Spoon a heaping teaspoon of batter into the center of pizzelle form.

4. Close the lid and squeeze tight.

pizzelle-machine

5. It only takes 30-45 seconds to cook.  Be careful not to burn them.

pizzelle-in-machine

Side note: My pizzelle maker tells you when the pizzelles are cooked but I found it’s a tiny bit off in both directions.  Some came out browner than others.  It just takes some time to figure out.

Since the machine isn’t perfect with the timing, here is a color guide for the proper color of pizzelles.

pizzelle-color

The burnt ones are not bad to eat, I enjoyed them and Hazel enjoyed them.  Speaking of Hazel, I was taking this picture of the pizzelles to illustrate how pretty they are . . .

pizzelles-rack

And took a step back . . .

pizzelles-rack-2

This was her pose for most of the baking.  She would switch sides to make sure I knew she was there.  Hazel certainly enjoys her cookies.

After baking, I ended up with 60 cookies . . . after the ten or so Hazel and I shared.

If you are interested in purchasing a pizzelle maker, they run about $40.  You can probably get one cheaper with a coupon at Bed Bath & Beyond.

Leave a Reply

