A Balancing Act

Ever have one of those week’s where you just felt like doing nothing? That was us the week between Christmas and New Year’s. We spent so much time focusing on the living room over the past few weeks and then launched into Christmas, we needed down time.

christmas-portrait

Yes, there will be a post about the living room tomorrow.

Life is all about balance and sometimes I forget to balance it out. We become so wrapped in a project and then move on to the next one, I forget how to relax. If you ask Greg, I don’t know how to relax because I’m always doing something and if not, I’m sleeping. It was an odd feeling to not be posting during Christmas week but it gave me a time to unplug and read. Or watch lots of movies with Greg.

With our wedding in four months, I need to learn how to unplug a bit more or else I’m going to go overboard with wedding minutiae that doesn’t require as much attention.

So I guess that is my New Year’s Resolution (besides walking 8,000-10,000 steps a day)– to relax a bit more.

Of course, we didn’t fully relax over the holiday . . .

We visited Grandmom (she even Face Timed with Greg/Hazel) . . .

20130108-210818.jpg

We made forts . . .

fort

Bottled some mead . . .

20130108-205853.jpg

Got tired of staring at the hole over our stove . . .

hood1

Busted out a new Christmas present . . .

hood2

And installed a new hood ($42 at Lowes) . . .

hood3

Played in the snow . . .

hazelsnow9

Visited friends . . .

20130109-064328.jpg

Had friends over . . .

hazel-laney3

And relaxed on the couch . . .

hazel-relax

Now I’m off to go read a trashy romance novel.

Leave a Reply

