Hop to It

Apparently Easter is a few short weeks away.  As my father would say, if I went to Church on a regular basis, I would know this.

But let’s face it, St. Patrick’s Day is the more important holiday at the moment.

So back to Easter.  The reason I realized it was coming up sooner rather than later was that my mom showed up with three shoe boxes of bunnies.

boxes-closed

Ever since 1986, she (or the Easter bunny) gave me a rabbit figurine. Each year she would date them and write the corresponding child’s initial on it.

mommy-bunny bunnies-dates

Then when I was old enough, I would get her a rabbit.  I remember the first one I bought her was from Clover.  Does anyone else remember Clover?

When I moved into my apartment, she asked if I wanted them to decorate.  I declined.

When I moved in with the stud muffin (Greg), again she asked if I wanted them.  I declined.

Now that we have a fabulous new living room.  I accepted.

Each bunny was carefully wrapped in a combination of napkins, tissue paper, and Easter grass.

boxes-openHazel assisted me in the placement of each bunny.  Fine, Hazel slept on her chair while I scurried around the room placing bunnies all over the place.hazel-sleep

Some fit on the board & batten ledge above the couch.

bunnies-ledge

The rest made their home on the bookcases or coffee tables.

bunnies-roombunnies-rightbunnies-leftbunnies-coffee-table

It was a great time setting up the rabbits and seeing them vary from year to year.  One year I even got a tennis player rabbit since I played tennis.

tennis-bunny

Do any of you have Easter traditions?

Leave a Reply

