Happy Birthday to Me!

Today I turn 31 and I’ve had the Phil Vassar song, “My Next 30 Years” stuck in my head on repeat. I’ve been looking back over the past year and reflecting on how I had moments of great joy and moments of loss, in addition to everything in between.

When I turned 26, we celebrated at my regular happy hour site with good friends. Greg and I had been seeing each other for about six months and he finally got to meet most of my core group of college friends. I might not remember everything from that night but I remember this- a friend pulled me aside and told me she had a feeling he was “the one.” I laughed it off because he wasn’t even referring to me as his girlfriend yet but she was right.

At our rehearsal dinner a few weeks ago, I retold the story to her and she didn’t even remember telling me. Funny how certain things stick out in our brains.

20130605-192442.jpg

Now we are building a life together. He’s been my rock and support for all those moments this year.

He’s also puts up with me declaring, “I have an idea . . . .” which leads me to the real point of this post. . . .

MY BIRTHDAY PRESENT!

I am that girl who buys herself birthday and Christmas presents.  This year I didn’t plan on getting myself anything especially after we got the estimate to have our Florida room updated.  As you learn, life doesn’t always work out the way you planned.  Yesterday there was a devastating building collapse in Philadelphia, a few blocks down from where I used to work.  The collapse took out the Salvation Army next door, a place I would frequent infrequently.

It got me thinking about Impact Thrift near us and how I hadn’t visited recently.  At lunch I decided to visit just to peruse the furniture section.  For as long as we’ve been in the house, I’ve been on the hunt for a dining room buffet because my dresser is not the best item for storing flatware.   We had discussed possibly buying a new dining room set at Christmas but the Florida room bill placed a massive hold on our new dining room furniture plans.

And then I saw it– a buffet with removal top that matched our dining room table.

20130605-192213.jpg

Sure it needs a little love but for $150 ($65 for delivery), I couldn’t beat it.  The deal got even better– Greg hates how I shove receipts in my purse and leave them there but today it paid off.  Impact offers coupons on the back of Giant grocery store receipts and I had one in my purse.

$25 came off the grand total bring it down to a manageable $185.

I understand buying used furniture isn’t for everyone but to me it’s no different than taking something of your parents/friends/friends of the family.  I don’t haggle prices at thrift store because most of the time the money is helping a charity.  In a few days they will be delivering this lovely piece of furniture and I will be ready with my cleaning supplies!

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Mommy says that is absolutely a gorgeous piece and you got an awesome price on it – way to go!! I say – oink snort “Happy Birthday my friend!” oink snort – XOXO – Bacon

Leave a Reply

