Five on Friday: Freeze or I’ll Make You Cook

In twenty short days Greg starts his last semester of grad school.  In twenty short days, I’ll become the sole cook . . . again.

Mom, if you feed me, I'll totally help cook.

Mom, if you feed me, I’ll totally help cook.

Sole cook?  When I moved in with Greg, I laid out a few rules– I’ll either do laundry or clean bathrooms (not both) and I refuse to be the sole cook.  In the end, we settled on me cooking three days a week (two for Greg) and handling the laundry (three bathrooms for Greg).  We have assigned cooking days of the week but that changes with Greg’s semester.  Each semester we reevaluate what days work for him based upon his class schedule and shift accordingly.

Two night classes means I end up doing all the cooking.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t not like cooking but I hate being the sole chef (dialing for pizza doesn’t count as cooking).  Now that we have the extra freezer up and running, I thought this would be the perfect time to attempt freezer cooking.

Many smart mom’s on the internet do a month of cooking in one weekend and freeze everything.  I’m not going that crazy but want to make the crockpot freezer bag meals or something easy to make in bulk and defrost.  Today’s Five on Friday is dedicated to all the family cooks who want to make meal time delicious but easy.

On to the five!

08022013FOF

1. How to Freezer Cook

08022013FOF1

Let’s start at the very beginning- what the heck is freezer cooking and the HE double hockey sticks does it work.  For this we are turning to Two Under Two.  She guides you through the process and offer several links to help you out.

2. Pancakes

08022013FOF2

Now that we have the basics down, let’s get started with a hearty breakfast.  I know in this household, pancakes are king.  Greg and Hazel would have pancakes everyday if they could.  But alas, I make Greg eat things like Fiber One instead of pancakes.  Here is a fast and easy way to make a ton of pancakes for easy breakfast preparation.

3. Cilantro Lime Chicken Recipe

08022013FOF4

As I’ve been researching freezer cooking, I kept finding the same ten recipes.  Somehow I stumbled on Cilantro Lime Chicken and it sounded divine.  With herbs in season, this meal sounded like a keeper.  Maybe I’ll make it next week as part of my freezer cooking experiment (especially since chicken is on sale at Giant!)

4. Twice Baked Potatoes

08022013FOF3

I love baked potatoes.  Greg loves baked sweet potatoes which I’ve slowly grown accustom to but to me, nothing will ever replace the taste of an oven baked potato loaded with sour cream and bacon.  As I started researching, I asked the hubster if he liked twiced baked potatoes.  After clarifying what a twiced potato was, I got a very affirmative yes. This surprised me based upon his love of the sweet potato.  The Frugal Housefrau have a great recipe for making these in bulk.  The only modification I would make is not so much cream cheese and butter (I’d probably half it and taste test my way through it.)  What’s great about potatoes this way, is adding other things like broccoli, spinach, or peppers!

5. Meat on the Side Recipes

08022013FOF5

In our house, we tend to be flexitarians– we eat more vegetarian like but not tied to it since we like our meat. Someone once used the term flexitarian and it described how we choose to eat.  During this season of Food Network Star, a contestant used the phrase Meat on the Side.  Bingo!  Another way to describe how we like to eat.  Researching all of these recipes lead to a plethora of chicken and beef dishes, but I wanted less meat.  Here are a few non meat recipes to use in freezer cooking.

Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Five on Friday: Freeze or I’ll Make You Cook

  1. Thanks for the pingback! It led me back to your site…I love your idea of five on Friday – I tried a 30 day thing back in the 80’s – I was young and energetic then and it was overwhelming, which says a lot because a) I love cooking and b) I’m very organized. That being said, it was still too much for me.

    I found that even just doubling recipes can quickly stock up a freezer, too – if you like soup, here’s wonderful Vegetable Soup that freezes beautifully! It makes a lot to begin with, but I often double it just so I have it onhand and frozen.

    http://frugalhausfrau.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/september-17-2012-classic-vegetable-soup-with-crusty-bread-cost-3-16/

    You’ll have to let me know how your 2x potatoes turn out – especially with variations!

Leave a Reply

