Make it a Meal Monday: Pumpkin Pie

This is all Facebook’s fault.  Everyone is talking pumpkin this and pumpkin that and it’s got me brainwashed.

Seriously, Facebook has brainwashed me this fall to be focused on pumpkin everything– pumpkin coffee, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin decorations, and now I’m throwing pumpkin pie into the fray.

Just think of me as Bobby Flay and this is my throwdown– pumpkin pie style.

On Friday I pinned mini pumpkin pies as part of my Five on Friday (what you don’t know is that the Five on Friday was actually supposed to happen the week before but I ran out of time.)  They looked cute and super easy and I needed something cute and super easy for a Make it a Meal Monday plus my parental units were having a wine party.  This meant I could make them and not eat all of them!

This made my waistline do a happy jiggle.

I’m going to start off by saying, they aren’t perfect nor did I go buy a pumpkin cookie cutter to make them.  I used the tried and true biscuit method– using a glass. So let’s get started!

Mini Pumpkin Pies (from Bakerella)

What you will need:

  • One package frozen pie crusts
  • 8oz of cream cheese
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie seasoning
  • Rolling pin
  • 2 mini muffin tins

1. First things first, remember at 8pm Friday night you needed to make these for the next day.

2. Next day, run to Target when they open to purchase all the needed ingredients and sunglasses for the wedding you are attending in a few hours.

3. Get home and get started.  Unroll the first pie crust which needs to be at room temperature.  Turn the oven on 350 degrees too!

4. Roll it just a bit to make it thinner.

pumpkin pie bites recipe

5. Use the glass to cut round shapes for the muffin tin.

pumpkin pie bites recipe

Side note: You are going to have put the scraps together to a few of the circles, it’s like playing with adult playdoh!

6. Spray your tin with Pam or whatever you choose to use.  You are going to have to stagger your pies because they can’t touch (much like the Ghostbuster’s streams, you don’t want them to cross).  Push the dough down and try to make the edges look pretty.  As you can see, I failed here . . . I was in a rush.

pumpkin pie bites recipe

7. After you’ve done this for 12 (the amount you can get out of one crust), I went around the edges with a fork to make them look a bit prettier.

pumpkin pie bites recipe

8. Then brush the edges with an egg white.

pumpkin pie bites recipe

9. Time for the filling, in the mixer (I used the whisk attachment for this), I added two eggs, pumpkin, sugar, vanilla, seasonings, and cream cheese.

Side note: when adding cream cheese to a mixture like this, I make sure it is room temperature and cut into cubes.  I find it’s easier to blend it the cream cheese is cubed.

10. Then you will have something resembling this.

pumpkin pie bites recipe

11. Add one tablespoon of the pumpkin pie filling to the crust cups.

12. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 350 degrees.

20130922-184635.jpg

13. Let them cool for five minutes in the tins before removing.

14. Repeat the entire process for the second pie crust.

15. Enjoy!

pumpkin pie bites recipe

I’ve never made a pumpkin pie before and I loved these.  For a party they are a great idea since it’s just a little mouthful of pumpkin pie.

And if you’re wondering, they were a big hit at my parents’ party.

Leave a Reply

